A Prayer For A Wounded Leader

A Prayer For The Wounded Leader

Bishop Sean Teal, Th.D.

“Holy Father, in the name of Jesus, I bless You and declare You alone are God. I kiss the feet of your Son and honor Jesus as the Only Savior. I thank You for Your Holy Spirit. I honor the indwelling and anointing of the Comforter. Fill me and help me to pray.

When those who have been placed in my life to lead me and train me betray me and turn against me help me to follow the law of love and to refuse bitterness into my heart. Holy Spirit, empower me to be a spiritual brother and sister to those who need me to forgive, love, support, and encourage them.

Father God, raise up spiritual leaders in our church family who can lead others with fairness, mercy, integrity, and tender love. Allow me to be one of these leaders. Take off of me every insecurity, jealousy, and all pride. Help me to recognize You and then have the wisdom to let You complete Your work in my life. Holy Spirit, release me from tormenting thoughts of self-blame, self-doubt and self-shame. In You there is no striving for the acceptance or promotion of men or self.

So turn my heart toward You in these matters and cause me to seek only Your acceptance and promotion. In You I stand and refuse to allow the enemy to cause me to seek revenge against those who have wronged me. I will not seek to defend my position nor my privileges. In You I have found my confidence and expectation. I choose You Father God as my banner and shelter. I run into the name of the LORD. I declare the decree. I am safe! I am healed!

I will not raise my hand nor bring my mouth to speak against those who seek my hurt. You, Father God, will scatter my foes seven ways without remedy. I will bless those who seek me evil. I pray Your grace and peace upon those that rise up against me. Restrain with wisdom those who war against the Lord’s anointed.

In Your vengeance I ask for Your forbearance and their repentance. Avenge not my offense. Avenge only what has offended Your glory. I leave them to You.

Father, cause my heart to be pure. I need Your love to lead me. Sometimes I fear what I feel. I give You full control over my emotions. Test my heart and try my heart. Through Your power, O Lord, I will not attack with my tongue. You word is true. I do acknowledge that both death and life are in the power of my tongue. Protect me from the presence and participation of corrupt conversations. Deliver me from those who seek to sow discord, division and separation between other Christian brothers and sisters. Don’t let me get caught up in the carnality of others. I need the might of Your grace!

Help me to have a heart that is loyal to my spiritual leader even when I feel rejected, ignored or wronged by him. I choose to be a man [or woman] after the heart of God, not one who seeks to gain an advantage for myself. Anoint me to show kindness to the ones who have wronged me. Give me a countenance of peace when I am in the presence of those who plot and scheme against me. Show me ways to honor them. Do not allow my offenses to cause me to disrespect anyone. Give me the meekness, even that You gave Your servant Moses. Dress me in the humility of mind that was in the mind of Christ Jesus.

Father, only You are worthy to judge the intents and actions of myself and of those around me. I praise You for Your wisdom, and I submit to Your leading. Lord, I choose to remain loyal to those in a position of authority over me. I choose to focus on the calling You have placed on my life and I refuse to be diverted by the ill will and bad actions of others. Father God, examine my life again and know and see if there is either evil or rebellion in my heart toward others. Where you find it, please forgive it and cleanse it away from me.  I praise You for this time and this prayer. I believe I receive, In Jesus name I pray,  Amen.”   

Holy Father teach me how to lead Your people and honor You above all else!

Leave a Reply

